Your Councillors

Borough Councillors (also known as "members") are elected by the community to decide how the Council should carry out its various activities. They represent the public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a register of interests form no later than 28 days following the day of their election, and within 28 days of becoming aware of any change to their interests.

There are 48 members of Guildford Borough Council: 25 Guildford Liberal Democrats, 7 Residents for Guildford and Villages, 10 Conservatives, 3 Guildford Greenbelt Group and 3 Labour Members. They are elected every four years. The last borough elections were held on 4 May 2023 and the next borough elections will be held on 6 May 2027.

The 2024-25 Mayor of Guildford is Councillor Sallie Barker MBE. Her deputy is Councillor Howard Smith.

Councillor Julia McShane is Leader of the Council.

Councillor Tom Hunt is the Deputy Leader of the Council

Councillor
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Councillor Bilal Akhtar

Councillor Bilal Akhtar

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Work mobile: 07899 960516

Work: bilal.akhtar@guildford.gov.uk

Conservative Worplesdon
photo of The Mayor, Councillor Sallie Barker MBE

The Mayor, Councillor Sallie Barker MBE

The Mayor 2024-25

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07798 575356

Work: sallie.barker@guildford.gov.uk

Conservative Pilgrims
photo of Councillor Phil Bellamy

Councillor Phil Bellamy

25 Old School Close, Ash, Surrey, GU12 5EX

Home mobile: 07818 821341

Work: phil.bellamy@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Ash Wharf
photo of Councillor Dawn Bennett

Councillor Dawn Bennett

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Work mobile: 07884 346324

Work: dawn.bennett@guildford.gov.uk

Residents for Guildford and Villages Clandon & Horsley
photo of Councillor Joss Bigmore

Councillor Joss Bigmore

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead House, Millmead, Guildford, GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07974 979369

Work: joss.bigmore@guildford.gov.uk

Residents for Guildford and Villages Merrow
photo of Councillor David Bilbe

Councillor David Bilbe

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07918 194297

Work: david.bilbe@guildford.gov.uk

Conservative Normandy & Pirbright
photo of Councillor Honor Brooker

Councillor Honor Brooker

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Work: honor.brooker@guildford.gov.uk

Conservative Worplesdon
photo of Councillor James Brooker

Councillor James Brooker

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07572 013444

Work: james.brooker@guildford.gov.uk

Guildford Greenbelt Group Send & Lovelace
photo of Councillor Philip Brooker

Councillor Philip Brooker

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07912 044546

Work: philip.brooker@guildford.gov.uk

Conservative Worplesdon
photo of Councillor Ruth Brothwell

Councillor Ruth Brothwell

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead House, Millmead, Surrey, GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07825 432177

Work: ruth.brothwell@guildford.gov.uk

Residents for Guildford and Villages Clandon & Horsley
photo of Councillor Yves de Contades

Councillor Yves de Contades

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Work: yves.decontades@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Merrow
photo of Councillor Amanda Creese

Councillor Amanda Creese

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Work mobile: 07814 441243

Work: amanda.creese@guildford.gov.uk

Labour Bellfields & Slyfield
photo of Councillor Geoff Davis

Councillor Geoff Davis

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead House, Millmead, Guildford, GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07836 501544

Work: geoff.davis@guildford.gov.uk

Conservative Castle
photo of Councillor Jason Fenwick

Councillor Jason Fenwick

2 Send Lodge, Send Road, Send GU23 7EN

Home mobile: 07976 596254

Work: Jason.fenwick@guildford.gov.uk

Guildford Greenbelt Group Send & Lovelace
photo of Councillor Matt Furniss

Councillor Matt Furniss

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Work: matt.furniss@guildford.gov.uk

Conservative Pilgrims
photo of Councillor Angela Goodwin

Councillor Angela Goodwin

27 Guildford Park Road, Guildford, Surrey, GU2 7NA

Home: 01483 824616

Work: angela.goodwin@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Onslow
photo of Councillor Lizzie Griffiths

Councillor Lizzie Griffiths

34 Rydes Hill Road, Guildford GU2 9SS

Home mobile: 07939 089069

Work: lizzie.griffiths@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Stoughton North
photo of Councillor Gillian Harwood

Councillor Gillian Harwood

180 Worplesdon Road, Guildford, Surrey, GU2 9UY

Home: 01483 452269

Home mobile: 07583 671052

Work: gillian.harwood@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Stoughton North
photo of Councillor Stephen Hives

Councillor Stephen Hives

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07999 105961

Work: stephen.hives@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Stoke
photo of Councillor Catherine Houston

Councillor Catherine Houston

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Home: 01483 574072

Work: catherine.houston@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Shalford
photo of Councillor Bob Hughes

Councillor Bob Hughes

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07745 266035

Work: bob.hughes@guildford.gov.uk

Conservative Tillingbourne
photo of Councillor Tom Hunt

Councillor Tom Hunt

Deputy Leader of the Council

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead House, Millmead, Surrey, GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07495 040978

Work: tom.hunt@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats St Nicolas
photo of Councillor James Jones

Councillor James Jones

41 Markenfield Road, Guildford GU1 4PD

Work: james.jones@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Onslow
photo of Councillor Vanessa King

Councillor Vanessa King

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Work mobile: 07961659202

Work: vanessa.king@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Stoke
photo of Councillor Steven Lee

Councillor Steven Lee

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead House, Millmead, Surrey, GU2 4BB

Home: 01483 808371

Work: steven.lee@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Onslow
photo of Councillor Sandy Lowry

Councillor Sandy Lowry

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Work: sandy.lowry@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Westborough
photo of Councillor Richard Lucas

Councillor Richard Lucas

"Yorkstones", Horseshoe Lane, Ash Vale, GU12 5LS

Work mobile: 07834 020422

Work: richard.lucas@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Ash Vale
photo of Councillor Julia McShane

Councillor Julia McShane

Leader of the Council

75 Applegarth Avenue, Park Barn, Guildford, Surrey, GU2 8LX

Home: 01483 837736

Work: julia.mcshane@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Westborough
photo of Councillor Masuk Miah

Councillor Masuk Miah

26 Bryanstone Close, Guildford, Surrey, GU2 9UJ

Home mobile: 07956 858401

Work: masuk.miah@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Stoughton South
photo of Councillor Richard Mills OBE

Councillor Richard Mills OBE

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07961 720730

Work: richard.mills@guildford.gov.uk

Conservative Castle
photo of Councillor Carla Morson

Councillor Carla Morson

11 Foxhurst Road, Ash Vale, GU12 5DY

Home mobile: 07843 489796

Work: carla.morson@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Ash Vale
photo of Councillor Danielle Newson

Councillor Danielle Newson

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Work mobile: 01483 610581

Work: danielle.newson@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Tillingbourne
photo of Councillor Patrick Oven

Councillor Patrick Oven

44 Send Road, Send, Surrey GU23 7EU

Home: 01483 351631

Home mobile: 07729 621586

Work: patrick.oven@guildford.gov.uk

Guildford Greenbelt Group Send & Lovelace
photo of Councillor George Potter

Councillor George Potter

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead House, Guildford, GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07411 005115

Work: george.potter@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Burpham
photo of Councillor Maddy Redpath

Councillor Maddy Redpath

65c Sydenham Road, Guildford, GU1 3RY

Home: 01483 808522

Work: maddy.redpath@guildford.gov.uk

Residents for Guildford and Villages Castle
photo of Councillor Merel Rehorst-Smith

Councillor Merel Rehorst-Smith

40 Norwood Road, Effingham, Surrey KT24 5NX

Home: 01483 610581

Work: merel.rehorst-smith@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Effingham
photo of Councillor David Shaw

Councillor David Shaw

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07795 361169

Work: david.shaw@guildford.gov.uk

Residents for Guildford and Villages Ash South
photo of Councillor Joanne Shaw

Councillor Joanne Shaw

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Work: 01483 610581

Work: joanne.shaw@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Merrow
photo of The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Howard Smith

The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Howard Smith

The Deputy Mayor 2024-25

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Work mobile: 07808 564724

Work: howard.smith@guildford.gov.uk

Labour Westborough
photo of Councillor Katie Steel

Councillor Katie Steel

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Work mobile: 077968943139

Work: katie.steel@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Stoughton South
photo of Councillor Cait Taylor

Councillor Cait Taylor

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead House, Guildford, Surrey, GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07812 174042

Work: cait.taylor@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Stoke
photo of Councillor Jane Tyson

Councillor Jane Tyson

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Work mobile: 07768 392686

Work: jane.tyson@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Burpham
photo of Councillor James Walsh

Councillor James Walsh

C/O Guildford Borough Council, Millmead House, Millmead, Surrey, GU2 4BB

Home: 07533 767227

Work mobile: 07533 767227

Work: james.walsh@guildford.gov.uk

Labour Bellfields & Slyfield
photo of Councillor Fiona White

Councillor Fiona White

28 Ash Close, Ash, Surrey, GU12 6AR

Home mobile: 07818 270907

Work: fiona.white@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Ash Wharf
photo of Councillor Dominique Williams

Councillor Dominique Williams

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Home: 01483 610581

Work: dominique.williams@guildford.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Shalford
photo of Councillor Keith Witham

Councillor Keith Witham

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB

Home: 01483 235292

Work: keith.witham@guildford.gov.uk

Conservative Normandy & Pirbright
photo of Councillor Sue Wyeth-Price

Councillor Sue Wyeth-Price

Twisted Willow, White Lane, Ash Green, GU12 6HW

Home: 01252 311142

Work: sue.wyeth-price@guildford.gov.uk

Residents for Guildford and Villages Ash South
photo of Councillor Catherine Young

Councillor Catherine Young

c/o Guildford Borough Council, Millmead House, Millmead, Surrey, GU2 4BB

Home mobile: 07817 184306

Work: catherine.young@guildford.gov.uk

Residents for Guildford and Villages Clandon & Horsley